Human Services Degrees

How to Get An Hvac Certification in North Carolina

Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) systems are very complicated and technical. They need extra care, and only people with relevant experience and qualifications can fix them. If you are interested in becoming an HVAC technician in North Carolina, then read the following article for more information.

Types of HVAC Licenses in North Carolina

There are three types of heating and cooling licenses in North Carolina. They are:

H1 – This license pertains to water-based or “Wet” comfort heating systems installed in buildings.

H2 – This license is for forced cooling and air heating units weighing over 15 tons.

H3 – This license is for forced cooling and air heating units that weigh less than 15 tons.

Requirements to get an HVAC Certification

There are multiple requirements that you will need to meet in order to get your HVAC certification/license. The requirements are:

Get the Necessary Education

You will have to get the necessary education to become eligible to work as an HVAC technician. Since the units are getting more sophisticated, most states and employers now require HVAC technicians and contractors with postsecondary education credentials like certificates or at least an associate’s degree.

Get Practical Training

You will also have to get a certain amount of practical training to sit for the exam to get the license. This is an integral part of the entire process.

Get Ready for the Exam

You will have to pass the licensing exam to work as an HVAC technician or contractor in North Carolina. To take the contractor exam, you will have to meet some requirements, which are:

  1. Experience of 2 years or 4,000 hours of full-time work in the field, you are seeking the license for.
  2. Half of that experience, 2,000 hours or 30 semester hours or 45 quarter hours can be in technical training or in an academic discipline that is directly related to the field for which the exam is being taken.

If you want to take the technician exam, then the requirements are:

  1. You will need 18 months or 3,000 hours of experience in the field for which the license is being sought.
  2. There are no education or technical training requirements mentioned for an HVAC technician exam.

Take the Exam

The exam for both the contractor license as well as the technician license will be four hours long. If you are going for a contractor license, then you will need to take another exam related to business and law, which will be one and a half hour long in duration.

For more detailed information, please refer to the North Carolina State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors website.

How Much Does an HVAC Technician Earn in North Carolina?

As per the latest estimates provided by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers working in North Carolina earned a mean annual income of $43,990 in 2019.

Ask your Question

* All Fields are Required
Call Now(877) 721-2529